Planning is a task that requires intelligence, foresight and realistic approach. Framing a Constitution of a country brings a huge responsibility along with it. For this purpose, our constituent assembly decided to appoint 22 committees. Among these committees, 10 were related to procedural affairs and 12 dealt with substantive affairs.

List of major committees with their chairmen.

 Name of the Committees          Chairman
 1.Committee on the Rules of Procedures       Rajendra Prasad
 2. Steering Committee       Rajendra Prasad
 3. Finance and Staff Committee       Rajendra Prasad
 4. Credential Committee       Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar
 5. House Committee       B. Pattabhisitaramayya
 6. Order of Business Committee       K.M Munshi
 7. Ad-hoc Committee on the National Flag       Rajendra Prasad
 8. Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly       G.V Mavlankar
 9. State Committee       Jawahar Lal Nehru
 10. Drafting Committee       B.R Ambedkar
 11. Minorities Sub-Committee       H.C Mukherjee
 12. Fundamental Rights sub  committee       J.B Kripalani
 13. Advisory Committee on Fundament Rights, Minorities,Tribal and Exclude Areas       Vallabhbhai Patel
 14. Union Powers Committee       Jawahar Lal Nehru
 15. Union Constitution Committee       Jawahar Lal Nehru
 16. North-East Frontier Tribal Areas and  Assam      Gopinath Bardoloi
 17. Excluded and Partially Excluded Area       A.V Thakkar
 18. Provincial Constitution Committee       Vallabhbhai Patel



  • The committee that played a major role in the framing of the constitution was the Drafting Committee.
  • A committee of 7 members was set up on 29 August 1947.
  • It was headed by Dr B.R Ambedkar.
  • The other six members were, Sayyad Mohammad Saadulla, Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar, N. Gopalaswami Ayyanger, B.L Mitter and D.P. Khaitan and K.M. Munshi.
  • L Mitter was replaced by N. Madhav Rao.
  • T Krishnamachari joined in after the death of D.P. Khaitan.
  • For debates, over 7000 proposals were suggested while only 2473 proposals could be considered.
  • It took around 114 days for the consideration of the draft.
  • The Draft of the Constitution had 325 articles and 13 schedules initially.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *